Civil War Roundtable of Arkansas, March, 2015 Edition

Our speaker on March 24th will be Ron Kelly. He’s program will be about the Battle of Helena.

Civil War History for the month of March
March 3, 1863, Enrollment Act passed
March 3, 1865, Congress creates Freeman’s Bureau
March 4, 1861, Lincoln inaugurated 16th President
The first secession convention led by pro-Unionist majority, convened in Little Rock
March 4, 1865, President Lincoln’s second inaugural
March 4, 1826, General John Buford, U.S., born
March 6, 1831, General Philip H. Sheridan, U.S., born
March 7, 1862, Battle of Pea Ridge
March 8, 1862, Battle of Pea Ridge ended in Confederate defeat
March 9, 1862, Battle of USS Monitor and CSS Virginia
March 12, 1864, Red River Campaign begins
U. S. Grant promoted to command all Union forces
March 13, 1862, The action at Spring River ended in Union victory
March 16, 1861, The Territory of Arizona secedes
March 16, 1865, The 6th Ark. Volunteer Infantry fought its last C.W. battle in Bentonville, NC
March 17, 1828, General Patrick Cleburne, C.S., born
March 17, 1865, Campaign to capture Mobile begins
March 20, 1862, Former AR governor John Selden Roane received a commission as a Brigadier General in
the Confederate army
March 22, 1817, General Brayton Bragg, C.S. born
March 23, 1864, General Frederick Steele moved his troops south from LR beginning what came to be
known as the Camden Expedition
March 28, 1818, General Wade Hampton, C.S., born
March 28, 1862, Taylor marches to reinforce Jackson
March 28, 1865, Appomattox Campaign begins
(from Legends in Gray Calendar, 2014 and The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture calendar, 2011)

Since we did not have a meeting February, included are the January 27th minutes.
Minutes, January 27, 2015 meeting
Meeting was called to order by President, Jan Sarna.

Quorum was declared.

Motion was made, seconded and passed to accept the minutes from the October meeting.

Treasurer reported that he had not received the bank statement but we should have est. $2,555 in the bank.

President, Jan Sarna introduced the speaker, Tom Ezell.

Our next meeting will be Tuesday, February 24, 2015 at 7:000p.m. at 2nd Presbyterian Church.


Comments are closed.